Thomas Kuipers

Webdeveloper / User Experience Designer

Click me

Coding

Frontend webdevelopment

Over six years experience with (X)HTML and CSS. Cross-browser, W3C validated, semantic mark-up. Two years experience with JavaScript and jQuery. Skilled with technologies such as AJAX and JSON. Check out the source code of this website.

Programming & databases

Over three years experience with object-oriented PHP and MySQL. Skilled in using frameworks such as Zend. Developed multiple CMS's. Developed an advanced Wordpress plugin which serves as a platform for 30+ websites. Created and maintained large MySQL databases. Programmed XML exchanges that make use of SOAP. Familiar with Java.

Design

Webdesign & user experience

Design in general has always been of interest to me. My main interest leans towards complex systems, which are to be seen as easy to the user. Design isn't just adding a gradient or some rounded corners to a button. Design is about creating a pleasant user experience. This is also what my study, Information Science, focusses on. Projects include designing a mobile OS for seniors of 70+ or developing a prototype for a multimedial game with technologies that won't be available for the next five years. I've worked as a graphic designer for four different employers and many freelance-based projects.

Small portfolio

Personal

The complete story of my life

I grew up in the small village of Midlaren, located in the North of the Netherlands, near Groningen. After I'd completed VWO at the Zernike College when I was 18, I moved to Amsterdam, where I still live at the moment. In Amsterdam I'm currently studying Information Science. Information Science focusses on the user, and on how to design a system that meets the users requirements and makes him/her happy. I work as a freelancer under the name Webvalid. Furthermore I'm building OnsBoek, which is an application that lets you build photo albums in collaboration with your friends and family.

Interests

I especially like to travel to far away countries. I've been windsurfing for eight years now. When it's storming, you'll find me on the water. Furthermore I just like to hang out with my awesome friends in bars, clubs or gardens.

Personality

I maintain a positive attitude and enjoy an informal atmosphere in my work. I'm always looking for new, more efficient and more awesome ways to solve problems.

Get in touch

Contact form


Info

I live in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

Phone
+31 6 54 25 65 38
Email
thomas@webvalid.nl